Return to Headlines

2021 Connecticut Scholastic Art Awards

We are proud to announce that 7 students from New Canaan High School and Saxe Middle School were recognized in the 31st Annual Connecticut Scholastic Art Awards. They are: Sophie Austin, Ankita Kuttichirayil, Marina Mallozzi, Avery Morawa, Gianfranco Pozzolini, Kaitlyn Sill, and Larson Riccoboni. These students were judged on their originality, demonstration of technical skill, and personal vision.

 The theme of this year's exhibition is "Celebrating the Creative Spirit of Connecticut Youth" and it will be available for viewing as a virtual art show. The sponsors, Connecticut Art Education Association, emphasize that the purpose of this program is not merely a competition, but recognition and encouragement of talented visual art students from across the state. Many artists, university faculty, and professionals in the field have participated to review and select the finest student artworks in many art media categories from thousands of Connecticut student entries.

The 31st Annual Connecticut Regional Scholastic Art Awards is the largest juried student art exhibition in the state. It is a high-level exhibition and is an affiliate of the National Scholastic Art Awards and The Alliance for Young Artists and Writers. The Connecticut region is proud to continue an annual tradition established in 1927. This national program was created to honor the creative efforts of grade 7 to 12 students in public, private, and parochial schools. It is now the largest and most senior program of its type in the country. Following the close of the Connecticut Regional exhibit, the select Gold Key award winners from each national region will have their artworks reviewed by a blue-ribbon panel of judges at the National level in March. The National Jury will select "Gold Medal" National winners and call in their artwork to be exhibited in New York City during June. The National student awards ceremony will be held at Carnegie Hall in mid-June. Congratulations to the students and their art teachers Kimanne Core, Jeanne McDonagh, and Jennifer Sinski.


Students won the following awards:


Gold Key Award:

Sophie Austin (Grade 11), Drawing, “Blades of Grass”

Larson Riccoboni (Grade 11), Linocut Print, “Like a Melody”

Kaitlyn Sill (Grade 12), Digital Painting, “Trailer”

Amy Meng (Grade 8), Pencil Drawing, "Reading"


Silver Key Award:

Avery Morawa, (Grade 10), Drawing, “Beneath the Surface”

Gianfranco Pozzolini (Grade 12), Digital artwork, “My Grandfather”


Honorable Mention Awards:

Ankita Kuttichirayil (Grade 9), Photography, “Bubbling Water”

Marina Mallozzi (Grade 11), Digital Art, “City Tree”