Return to Headlines

2018 National Merit Scholars

New Canaan High School’s 2018 Merit Scholars




New Canaan High School’s 2018 Merit Scholars: (left-right) Max Plum, Lance Phillips, Kevin Brunner, Natasha Tchir, Dylan Shane, Erin Spiess, Victor Alvarez, Oliver Crookenden, Gray Farley, Daniel Lu, Conor West, Luke Crowley, Bridget Haley, Katelyn Robertson (in front, crouching), Nicole Vanderlee, Katherine Reeves, and Katherine Unger. Not pictured: Griffin Fill,  Elizabeth Greer, Meghan Kloud and William Rechtermann.


The National Merit Scholarship Corporation has named twenty-one New Canaan High School seniors as 2018 Merit Scholars in either the Semifinalist, Commended, or Hispanic Scholar categories. The seniors were recognized in a reception at the high school earlier this week that was attended by Superintendent of Schools Dr. Bryan Luizzi, NCHS Principal Bill Egan, Assistant Principal Ari Rothman, NCHS facultly and school counselors, district administrators, family, and friends.


Those NCHS Seniors earning Merit Scholarchip recognition are: National Merit Semifinalist Scholars: Conor West, Erin Spiess, Natasha Tchir, and Daniel Lu; National Merit Commended Scholars: Kevin Brunner, Oliver Crookenden, Luke Crowley, Gray Farley, Griffin Fill, Elizabeth Greer, Bridget Haley, Meghan Kloud, Lance Phillips, Max Plum, William Rechtermann, Kathleen Reeves, Katelyn Robertson, Dylan Shane, Katherine Unger and Nicole Vanderlee; National Hispanic Scholar: Victor Alvarez.


Each year, approximately 1.6 million high school students enter the National Merit® Scholarship Program. Of those entries, only approximately one percent qualify as National Merit Semifinalists, chosen from a pool with the highest PSAT/NMSQT ® Selection Index scores. National Merit Commended Scholars represent the top two percent of those 1.6 million students. The National Hispanic Scholars represent the top 1.5% of the 400,000 Hispanic students who took the PSAT.


In February 2019, some 15,000 Semifinalists will be notified they have advanced to Finalist standing. All winners of Merit Scholarship® awards are chosen from this Finalist group based on their abilities, skills, and accomplishments - without regard to gender, race, ethnic origin, or religious preference.


photo: Valerie Stryker