Return to Headlines

NCHS AP Physics Students Claim First Place in Region 03, Division I, Physics Bowl

New Canaan High School’s Advanced Placement physics students recently participated in the 2015 AAPT International Physics Bowl Competition. According to the American Association of Physics Teachers website, “Each year, approximately 10,000 students take a 40-question, 45-minute timed, multiple-choice test under their school’s supervision .… Exam questions are based on topics and concepts covered in a typical high school physics course.” The annual exam is administered in April.

The Physics Bowl has two divisions. Division I is for first-year physics students and Division II is for second-year physics students. Fourteen regions have been established within the United States so that schools within a region may complete against one another. Five additional regions were established this year to include schools in China. New Canaan competes in Region 03, the New England region.

Members of NCHS Div.1 Physics Bowl team Charlie Pitteway, Robbie Fusek, Chris Reik, Claire Conley NCHS science teacher Paul Reid shared the following results from this year’s event. The NCHS Division I team won first place in Region 03 with a score of 109. Team members include Chris Reik, Claire Conley, Dan Korsun, Charlie Pitteway, Aidan Tuttle, and Robbie Fusek. Claire Conley placed 47th in the world. Chris Reik earned second place individual honors in New England. The NCHS Division II team claimed second place in Region 03 with a score of 85. Team members include Charlie Lenihan, Sarah Hardy, Steven DiCarlo, Brendan Sweeney, and Sarah Owen. Charlie Lenihan placed 46th in the world.

Division I team members left to right: Charlie Pitteway, Robbie Fusek, Chris Reik, Claire Conley. Missing from photo: Dan Korsun, Aidan Tuttle.